How Is A Dui Offense Sentenced In Alabama?

In just one year, Alabama police officers arrested over 14,000 individuals for drunk driving. Of those arrested, nearly 10,000 were convicted. Drunk driving is without question one of the most penalized crimes in the state and prosecutors are serious about deterring repeat offenders by way of harsh penalties.

Not every DUI is punished the same way, however. Before sentencing a convicted individual, the court takes various factors into account, such as the defendant’s past criminal history and the circumstances of their offense. If you’re facing DUI charges, the information below may enlighten you about possible penalties if convicted.

DUI Penalties According to State Law

It is illegal to drive with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 percent or higher. As a minor, anything at or above .02 percent is considered illegal. You can incur penalties from both the Alabama courts and the AL Department of Public Safety if you are convicted.

Depending on your circumstances, penalties may include time in jail, fines, community service, and a suspended driver’s license. Even first offenders can find themselves dealing with the consequences of their actions many years later.

Penalties for a first offender may entail:

  • Up to $2,100 in fines
  • License suspension
  • Mandatory interlock ignition device
  • Community service

You cannot afford to go without a Birmingham DUI lawyer, regardless of your situation. Many first-offenders believe that they can get away with their offense because they don’t have a criminal record and fail to secure legal representation. Unfortunately, this often ends poorly and they are hit with harsh penalties.

Don’t let this happen to you! At Tidwell Law Group, LLC, we are passionate about defending the rights of our clients. With over a decade of experience, you can feel confident that we can fight for the best possible outcome on your behalf.

Schedule a free, no-obligation consultation today to get started.