If someone takes your property without any legal consent, that individual could face serious legal repercussions, including jail time, costly fines, and all of the challenges that come with a criminal record. Theft crimes are not treated lightly in Alabama, and even seemingly minor theft crimes can have a lasting impact on your personal and professional life- not to mention your criminal record.
Thankfully, there are several legal defenses your attorney might employ to protect your rights and freedoms if you were wrongly accused. However complex or challenging your situation may seem, understanding the severity of the charges laid against you can help determine the best legal strategy to help your case and protect your future. If you were recently accused of a theft crime, make sure you know what you’re up against.
About Theft Crimes in Alabama
Theft crimes can vary greatly in severity and may include anything from a petty theft to armed robbery. Depending on the scope of the crime, the resulting penalties for a conviction can vary.
Some of the more common theft crimes in Alabama include:
- Armed robbery
- Auto Theft
- Unlawful use of a credit card
To determine the appropriate penalties for a theft crime, the court will first look at the value of the stolen property, the type of property stolen, as well as the circumstances surrounding the crime.
If the stolen property was valued at less than $500, the accused will face third-degree theft charges, which can result in a Class A misdemeanor, up to 1 year of imprisonment, and up to $6,000 in fines.
If the stolen property is valued between $500 and $2,500, the resulting charge will be a second-degree theft. However, certain stolen items can automatically qualify for second-degree theft charges, regardless of the monetary value. These items include firearms, credit cards, debit cards, controlled substances, and even livestock. If charged with second-degree theft, the resulting penalties may include a Class C felony charge, between one and 10 years in prison, and up to $15,000 in fines.
If the stolen property is worth more than $2,500, it can result in a Class B felony, between two and 20 years of imprisonment, and up to $30,000 in fines. A theft might also be elevated to a first-degree theft crime if the stolen property was an automobile, regardless of the monetary value.
Our Firm Can Help You
Are you facing theft charges? Our experienced attorneys at Tidwell Law Group LLC can listen to your story and assess the circumstances of your case to help determine the best course of action. There is much at stake if you were charged with a third, second, or first-degree theft crime, and you need swift, experienced legal help to protect your rights and your future.
Contact Tidwell Law Group LLC today to discuss your case with our team.