A first DUI offense in Alabama is a misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum jail sentence of one year, a fine of up to $2,100 (not including court costs), and driver’s license suspension for up to 90 days that is followed by the installation of an ignition interlock device (IID). However, if there are any aggravating factors associated with your arrest, you could be subject to increased criminal penalties or even a felony charge.
Common aggravating factors of an Alabama DUI include the following:
- High blood alcohol content (BAC) – Although having a BAC of at least .08 percent can lead to the penalties mentioned above, if your BAC is at least .15 percent—nearly double the legal limit—could be subject to a minimum jail sentence of one year and must use an IID for two years after completing a 90-day suspension.
- Having a minor passenger in the vehicle – If you are arrested for a DUI while having minor who is at least 14 years of age as a passenger in the vehicle, a conviction can result in at least double the minimum penalties and the use of an IID for two years after completing a 90-day suspension.
- Causing injury – If you cause serious bodily injury to someone else while drunk driving, it is considered assault in the first degree, which is a Class B felony that carries a maximum prison term of 20 years and a fine of up to $30,000.
- Causing death – If you kill another person while drunk driving, it is considered vehicular manslaughter, which is also a Class B felony.
As you can see, an aggravated DUI in Alabama is a serious criminal offense. If you have been charged with an aggravated DUI in Birmingham, our experienced criminal defense attorney at Tidwell Law Group, LLC is prepared to use his 17 years of legal experience to help you obtain the most favorable outcome in your case.
Contact us today and schedule a free consultation to learn about your available legal options.